Dreaming of Summer (Ale Ice Cream)

It has been bitterly, unbearably cold in New York this week, and I just want it to be summer again. To be honest, I have been ready for it to be summer again since October. I can’t decide if that makes this week’s Blue Moon Summer Ale Ice Cream a beautiful day-dream or a vicious tease. What I do know is that it is delicious.

Beer Ice cream in a bowl

I made this ice cream mainly because it’s January, and I’ve had the Blue Moon Summer Ale in my fridge since July. I live alone but don’t drink alone, so alcohol tends to linger here. Any flavor where I don’t need to go out in the cold to buy ingredients gets bumped to the top of the list.

Blue Moon Summer Ale Ice Cream

Blue Moon Beer Flavored Ice Cream

Ingredientssummer ale ice cream ingredients1 3/4 cups milk
1 cup heavy cream1 cup Blue Moon Summer Ale
2/3 cup sugar
3 tbsp cream cheese
2 tbsp light corn syrup
1 tbsp + 1 tsp corn starch
1 orange
1/8 tsp salt

Instructions
1. Mix together corn starch and 2 tbsp on the milk in a little bowl. Set aside.
2. Whisk together cream cheese and salt in a large bowl and set aside.
3. Squeeze orange to get orange juice (I guess you can also just use orange juice, about 2 tbsp, but I had an orange and not the juice. See earlier re: using ingredients I already had).
4. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine beer, heavy cream, milk, sugar, and corn syrup. Bring to a boil for about 4 minutes.
5. Remove from heat and mix in the corn starch-milk mixture.
6. Return to heat, and bring to a boil for about 1 minute while stirring.
7. Whisk hot mixture into cream cheese. Make sure cream cheese is completely incorporated. Add the orange juice.
8. Cool. (I usually do this in the fridge overnight.)
9. Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.
churn

10. Eat!
Blue Moon Beer Ice cream

This entry was posted in Homemade, Ice Cream, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

