Forgetting My Letters and Numbers: A Tale of Greek Yogurt Ice Cream

One of the reasons I decided to start blogging again, is that it’s a great way to remember the recipes I made if I want to make them again. When I want to make mint ice cream, I don’t pull out a cookbook; I pull up this blog.

Which is all a long way of saying I don’t remember how to make any of the ice cream I made last year.

Now, it makes sense that I don’t remember how I made Orange Sherbert last January. But I made Greek Yogurt Ice Cream last October 14, and I only know that because iPhoto keeps track of your photos by date, and if it weren’t for said photo, I wouldn’t remember any of the ingredients or their measurements.

Ingredients for Greek Yogurt Ice Cream

Said photo.

Unfortunately, the photo still leaves me out of luck when it comes to corn syrup and greek yogurt measurements, unless a blob is a technical measurement for yogurt and no one told me. So the below recipe is my best guess, based off of the frozen yogurt base recipe from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream at Home.

Ingredients
2 cups milk
1 cup heavy cream
1 1/4 cup greek yogurt (if any liquid has pooled at the top, spill it out)
3/4 cup sugar
3 tbsp cream cheese
2 tbsp corn syrup
1 tbsp + 1 tsp corn starch

Recipe
1. In a little bowl, mix corn starch and about three tbsps of the milk with a fork. Put aside.
2. Put the remaining milk, heavy cream, sugar, and corn syrup in a saucepan and heat over medium heat until boiling. Let boil for ~4 minutes.
3. Remove from heat and whisk in the milk/corn starch slurry.
4. Return to stove and bring the mixture back to a boil for 1 minute, stirring the whole time.
5. Pour the hot mixture into a large bowl with the cream cheese and yogurt. Whisk until smooth.
6. Chill the mixture. I usually do this in the fridge overnight.
7. Freeze according to your ice cream machine’s instructions.
8. While the ice cream is churning, make cute labels using Greek letters and be really proud of yourself that you remember all of them from your sorority days. When you’re done realize that you got the “U” wrong and don’t remember them as well as you thought. (But the psi is such a cute letter!)

IMG_6121

9. Eat! (Discover that it tastes suspiciously like cheesecake, but that’s not something to complain about.)

This entry was posted in Frozen Yogurt, Homemade, Ice Cream, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

