Ice Cream History and Eating in DC

Last weekend, I visited a friend in Washington DC. We saw the Declaration of Independence in the National Archives (which there is no way Nicholas Cage could have stolen National Treasure style). But, a way more exciting historical find in my friend’s office, was the history of the ice cream scoop, which apparently was invented by Alfred L. Cralle in 1897.

Scoop History

To recharge after all that history, ice cream and otherwise, we went to Larry’s Homemade Ice Cream.

Larry's Homemade Ice Cream

They had several articles hanging on the wall, declaring them the best ice cream in DC. And the flavor selection didn’t disapoint:

Fred and Ginger Ice Cream  Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookie Cough Chocolate Chunks Ice Cream

They were chock full of my favorite alcohol-ice cream trend. I tried the Fred & Ginger but I just wasn’t in the mood for that. I got Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookie Dough Chocolate Chunk instead.

Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookie Dough Chocolate Chunks Ice Cream Scoop

The Oatmeal Cookie Dough was incredible. And, the ice cream flavor was spot on. But Larry’s Homemade Ice Cream just wasn’t as creamy as I’m used to. All of the homemade and NY gourmet ice cream I’m used to has me spoiled, and the texture here left me wanting.

What didn’t leave me wanting was the awesome Guernica/Ice Cream Mash-Up mural on the wall.

Guernica and Ice Cream

This entry was posted in Ice Cream, Ice Cream Shop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

