Talking About Cherries on a Bus

Traditionally, leaving on a bus is less exciting than leaving on a jetplane, if only because leaving on a jetplane comes with its own theme music. But today, the bus comes with an outlet and surprisingly well-functioning wireless interent. So, I’m not knocking bus travel.

As we speak, I am on my way to DC after what has been an incredibly busy few weeks. Did you know it’s not cherry season? Those two statements have more in common than you think.

I made ice cream to take home to my parents’ house for a dinner with family friends. The only flavor instruction was “not anything weird.” I decided that Chocolate Cherry would be the perfect “not weird” flavor.

Chocolate Cherry Ice Cream

I went to grocery store after grocery store; none of them had cherries. They all carried figs. I guess figs are in season. But as much as I now want to make fig ice cream before figs go out of season, figs are definitely a “weird” flavor. I was all out of hope, until I found frozen cherries at the fourth place I tried.

Sometimes I bring the busy on myself.

And now, without further ado, Cherry Sauce:

Cherry Sauce for Ice Cream
Recipe adapted from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home
Makes enough cherry sauce for about 3 pints of ice cream

Ingredients
Ingredients
3 cups cherries
1 cup sugar
3 tbsp corn startch

1. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees
2. Mix together cherries, sugar, and corn starch in an 8×8 Pyrex dish
3. Cook for about 45 minutes, taking the tray out and stirring every 10-15 minutes. Don’t let the sugar burn
4. Cool. When it’s cooled down enough to transfer to a tupperware, you can put the cherry sauce in the fridge to help with this.
5. You can layer the cherry sauce into ice cream when you make it, alternating between spoon-fulls of cherry sauce and scoops of fresh ice cream as you transfer it from machine to container. You could also just pour the sauce on top when you serve it.

I put the sauce in Chocolate Ice Cream and Vanilla Ice Cream (links go to recipes for the ice cream).

dark chocolate cherry ice cream  vanilla cherry
vanilla cherry ice cream

This entry was posted in Homemade, Ice Cream, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

