It’s going to be Legan – wait for it –

I’ve been up to all sorts of new things recently (above and beyond fashion blogging!). Among them, I finished watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer season 7, saw How I Met Your Mother for the first time (and in news that is noteworthy to exactly no one: it’s a good show!), and I finally attempted to make a three-part ice cream flavor that I had at a fancy ice-cream shop back in the summer.

Today is part one of said ice cream: the Brownie mix-ins.

I went to my trusty The Perfect Scoop for this, as they have a whole section on ice cream vessels, containing not one, but two brownie recipes. (Also, how awesome is the phrase “ice cream vessel”? So awesome.) One was cake-like, one fudge-like. I am a firm believer that brownies should be dense and fudgey, so there was really only one option for me. Plus, I planned to cut my brownies up into tiny little pieces to mix into the ice cream, not to use them as the intended “vessels,” putting the ice cream on top a la mode. So I wanted the brownie that would hold itself together in the ice cream.

Brownie Plate

WARNING: These brownies taste like fudge. No, really. It’s delicious.

Fudge Brownies
Recipe from The Perfect Scoop

Ingredients
Brownie Ingredients
1/2 cup unsalted butter
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup flour
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips (semisweet or bittersweet)
OPTIONAL: 3/4 cup hazelnuts, pecans, almonds, or walnuts (I didn’t put nuts in mine, but if you were making them as just brownies to eat, I would suggest including them)

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Line an 8×8 pan with aluminum foil and/or grease the sides with butter. This was my most difficult step as I didn’t own a pan. I eventually after much trying to figure out if a 9 inch round pan has the same area as an 8×8 square, bought a disposable tray from the grocery store (my ability to multiply by pi in my head is sadly lacking).
Brownie Tray
3. Cut up butter and melt in a medium saucepan over low heat.
4. Chop up the unsweetened chocolate (you can use an awesome food processor for this if you have one!).

5. Put chopped chocolate in butter.
6. Mix until melted.
7. Remove from heat and mix in sugar.
8. Mix in eggs one at a time.
9. Mix in vanilla.
10. Stir in flour and salt.
11. Beat for 30 seconds until it begins to form a ball. (I’m not sure I did this step right. I mixed by hand with a whisk until it looked like smooth batter and it all worked out okay.)
12. Stir in chocolate chips (and nuts if you’re using them).
13. Pour into pan. Smooth top so that the batter is even.
14. Cook for 30 minutes.
15. Remove from oven and let cool.
Brownie
16.  Eat by themselves, a la mode, or cut up into little pieces and mixed into ice cream.

This entry was posted in Homemade, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s going to be Legan – wait for it –

  1. Pingback: Full Disclosure: I’ve fallen asleep with my laptop on my lap before. | churn bklyn

  2. Pingback: Full Disclosure: I’ve fallen asleep with my laptop on my lap before. | churn bklyn

Leave a Reply

