Stupidly Proud of Self-Serve

There’s really nothing impressive about making a self-serve Sundae. But sometimes The Onion strikes ridiculously close to the truth when they fake-quote a New Yorker as saying “I always had this perverted sense of pride because I was managing to scrape by here” (the rest of the article is just as good). So before I get out of town for the weekend, I am going to tell you all about the MOST delicious sundae I made at 16 Handles.

16 Handles Sign

Another thing I probably don’t need to do is tell you about 16 Handles, since something close to 100% of my readership are my Facebook (and therefore IRL) friends, and I’ve made most of you go there. But in the hopes that eventually that is not the case, I’ll tell you about it anyway: 16 Handles is a self-serve frozen yogurt place in the East Village, with 16 flavors to choose from (hence the name).

We went there after Megan’s birthday brunch (Megan — happy belated birthday, btw). Check out Megan’s friends at all those handles.

Self serve ice cream at 16 Handles

Like almost all stores in NY, this one is narrower than it really should be, so I couldn’t get a picture of ALL the toppings, but they have over thirty. And my choices were the absolute best.

Ice Cream

That right there is red velvet and birthday cake frozen yogurt with cookie dough, mini peanut butter cups, chocolate covered pretzels, candy corn (to celebrate the season), dark chocolate syrup and peanut butter sauce. Go ahead and beat that.

This entry was posted in Frozen Yogurt, Ice Cream Shop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

