Pistachio Ice Cream: A Birthday Story

Monday was my birthday. On Sunday, I went to my favorite aspirational cooking store (Sur La Table) and bought myself a teeny-tiny Cuisinart Food Processor as a present.

Sur La Table bag Cuisinart Food ProcessorIsn’t it adorable?

I didn’t quite get around to making the ice cream this weekend. (Things I did do this weekend: Get a haircut, See American Idiot, Go to bunch with out-of-town friends, Get a  mani/pedi.) Instead, I celebrated by doing the ice cream equivalent of licking the beaters when the ice cream was done churning, late Monday night. I felt decidedly not older, even though I think I’m supposed to be an adult now.


Here, have a quote: “When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.” ~C. S. Lewis

The ice cream is pistachio, which might be my favorite flavor. But I don’t like committing to favorites.

Pistachio Ice Cream
Recipe from Food & Wine Magazine Website
Makes about 1.5 Quarts

Ingredients:
Ingredients for Pistachio Ice Cream

1 3/4 cups 1% milk
1 tbsp + 1tsp corn starch
1 1/2 ounces cream cheese
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
2/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 tbsp light corn syrup
1/2 cup shelled pistachios
1/4 tsp pure almond extract
1/4 tsp salt

1. Toast pistachios
2. Chop pistachios so they’re finely ground.

Pistachios in Toaster Pistachios in Cuisinart
I blew a fuse and then couldn’t figure out what was wrong and chopped them by hand after these photos were taken. Being-an-adult!fail.

3. Soften cream cheese and whip in a large-ish bowl.
4. Mix together 2 tbsp of the milk and the corn starch.
5. In a large saucepan, mix together the rest of the milk, the heavy cream, sugar, and corn syrup.
6. Bring to a boil over med. heat and stir for about four minutes, until the sugar and corn syrup are completely dissolved.
7. Remove from heat and mix in corn starch mixture.
8. Put over med-high heat again and stir for about 6 minutes, until the mixture thickens.
9. Pour hot mixture into cream cheese bowl and whisk/stir until cream cheese is completely dissolved.
10. Mix in the pistachios, almond extract, and salt.
11. Chill.
12. Pour through a sieve to strain out the pistachios.
13. Freeze as directed.
14. OPTIONAL: About 5 minutes before it’s done, add back in the chopped pistachios.
15. Eat! (Actually, transfer into a tupperware, put it in the freezer for a couple of hours while it firms up, then eat. But that is less fun.)

This entry was posted in Homemade, Ice Cream, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

