Kitchen: UPGRADE! Guinness Ice Cream: UPGRADE!

You’d think it would be easy to find a video on youtube of the personalities on Best Week Ever declaring things “UPGRADE!” You’d be wrong.

But I’m moved into my new apartment. And it totally deserves a bunch of comedians in front of rainbow backgrounds saying “UPGRADE” while giving it the thumbs up. (I would say I miss Best Week Ever, but my heart belongs to Joel McHale on The Soup, so I don’t really.)

Rainbow Bowls

Instead, have some rainbow bowls. One of the perks of moving in with a new roommate is getting to use all the awesome stuff they own.

And what’s there to do with a new kitchen other than make ice cream? Way back when I got my ice cream maker, I made Guinness Ice Cream. It used one bottle from the six pack. I moved with the remaining five. In an effort to not still have five of them when I next move in a few years’ time, I decided to make Guinness Ice Cream again.

Beer

There’s actually only three in the fridge by now. Roommate drank one.

Guinness Ice Cream
Recipe adapted from Food & Wine Magazine Website
Makes about 1.25 Quarts

Guinness Ice Cream

Ingredients:
1 cup Guinness
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
7 egg yolks

1. Whisk together egg yolks and sugar
2. Mix Guinness, heavy cream, and whole milk together in a saucepan. Bring it to a simmer over med/high heat.
3. Take off of heat, and pour about half of the Guinness/cream mixture into the eggs, whisking while you do so.
4. Pour egg mixture back into saucepan with Guinness/cream mixture.
5. Head custard over med. heat, stirring constantly until mixture coats the back of a spoon (about 6 minutes).
6. Pour custard through a sieve into a bowl.
7. Let cool (I put the bowl with ice cream into an ice bath, and then put the whole thing in the fridge).
8. Freeze according to directions.

OPTIONAL: Crush up a Hershey’s bar to put over the ice cream (this also to allow you to take more pretty pictures of the new kitchen).
Crushed Hershey's Chocolate Bar

9. Eat!

This entry was posted in Apartment, Homemade, Ice Cream, Recipe, TV and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kitchen: UPGRADE! Guinness Ice Cream: UPGRADE!

  1. Nick Martin says:

    This Guinness Ice Cream is fantastic. I will definitely be making this one. Delicious. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

