The BKLYN Part

There’s been a lot of talk of ice cream around these parts, but no mention of the BKLYN part of this blog’s title. But that’s all changing today. At the beginning of the month, I moved into a totally awesome new apartment am hard at work unpacking, setting up, and decorating.

So far, this has mostly involved reading a lot of Apartment Therapy, Design*Sponge, and Decor8. Also, painting.

I’ve been kind of obsessed with the gray rooms I’ve been seeing on these blogs (I can’t find my favorite, but here’s two others). So I played a real-life game of Frogger, walking to Home Depot to buy gray paint samples.

Wow- you can really see the spots that come from putting the camera in my pocket and then sitting on it in this photo.

And then I didn’t like either of them. The one on the left is Behr Porpoise. It looked really purple in person. Purple is just about the only color not found in my crazy-bright comforter. The one on the right is Silver Drop and just looked too close to white.

Which led me back to get more paint chips. Thankfully this time, I was home at my parents house, and my mom drove me to the store to pick up all the paint chips in the world.

Can you tell which one I picked?

If you guessed this one, you’re right:

It’s Benjamin Moore Misted Fern. That decided, it was time to get to painting.

I bought myself an edger gadget, because I like gadgets. This is a Zibra Edge-n-Roll.

There is a button that makes the ends of the roller open up, so that they sit outside the edge of the paint tray when you put paint on the roller. Then, when you go to paint, you close the ends, and you can run the clean end of the edger right up against the ceiling or molding.

It was nifty, although definitely not worth the money, since I taped the molding anyway. Plus, it can’t maneuver corners. And, the rollers in it didn’t cover well. I needed to go over everything I did with it 2+ times.

But, eventually the room was done.

Now, I just have a million more projects left to go.

This entry was posted in Apartment, bklyn, Decorating, Home Improvements and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The BKLYN Part

  1. Pingback: Pretty, Pretty Postcards | churn bklyn

Leave a Reply

