The Boozy Baker Cookbook

I got The Boozy Baker Cookbook from my brother for the holidays and promptly set off to make ALL the boozy baked goods.

I started with Old Fashioned Snickerdoodles, and then made Raspberry Cheesecake Brownies, with raspberry lambic, for my mom for her birthday.

cookie_ingredientscookies raspberry_cheesecake_brownie

The cookies were amazing and easy, but one batch made was a zillion cookies, and my tiny studio-apartment oven only cooked one tiny tray of a dozen at a time, so it was quite the undertaking. The Raspberry Cheesecake Brownies were delicious but did not take my substituting an 8-inch square pan for the 9-inch square well, and looked not as pretty as they should have.

But the real star so far are the Oak Bars, which are blondies with chardonnay.

oak_bar

These were so good I’ve made them twice. You should make them too.

oak_bar_bowls
1 ¼ cups of flour
1 cup of light brown sugar
1 stick of butter
1 tsp of baking powder
1/8 tsp of salt
1 egg
¼ cup chardonnay
¾ cup butterscotch chips
½ cup toasted cashews

1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt together in a small bowl.
3. In a large bowl, with an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar together until fluffy, about 3 minutes.
4. Beat in egg.
5. Beat in chardonnay.
6. Beat in dry ingredients.
7. Mix in butterscotch chips and cashews
8. Bake about 25 minutes in greased 8×8 pyrex.
9. Eat!

There are a lot more recipes in here I’d like to make, but I don’t have a particularly well-stocked bar. Even if I did, a lot of the recipes call for specific dessert-y liquors. I tackled the recipes with bourbon and wine, first, and will slowly get to the ones that call for apricot schnapps, Kahlua, or creme de menthe when I feel like treating myself to them.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Homemade, Non-Ice Cream, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Boozy Baker Cookbook

  1. Pingback: All the Raspberry Everything | churn bklyn

Leave a Reply

